Skip to content

Hunter Regional Weeds Committee (HRWC)

The purpose of the Hunter Regional Weed Committee is to provide ‘tenure neutral’ strategic planning and coordination of weed management activities at the regional level. These activities play an integral part in an overall state weed management framework.

The committee was established to:

  • support implementation of the weeds components and underlining principles of the NSW Biosecurity Strategy, NSW Biosecurity Act and the NSW Invasive Species Plan 2015-2022;
  • provide advice to the Board regarding delivery weed functions for the Local Land Services (LLS) consistent with the Local Strategic Plan;
  • to develop innovative and effective regional weed management strategic plans that consider risks, include all land tenure, and major stakeholders in the landscape; and
  • provide a forum for the community and stakeholders in decision making, and develop communication education and awareness programs based on local and/or regional priority weeds and issues.

Terms of Reference

Communiques

Membership

Organisation

Name

Title

Phone

Email

Membership

Hunter LLS

Daryl Dutton

Board Member

0408 410 641

daryldutton@bigpond.com

CHAIR

Cessnock City Council

Nicole Benson

Manager Recreation Services

4993 4252

0401 107 490

Nicole.benson@cessnock.nsw.gov.au

Representative

Cessnock City Council

Barry Shepherd

Weeds Coordinator

4993 4370
0401 107 513

Barry.shepherd@cessnock.nsw.gov.au

Alternate

Dungog Shire Council

Paul Minnet

Environment. Manager

4995 7740
0407 033 245

paulm@dungog.nsw.gov.au

Representative

Dungog Shire Council

Cr Linda Bowden

Councillor

 

Kenlin54@bigpond.com

Alternate

Gloucester Shire Council

Cr Jim Henderson

Councillor

0428 581 563

Jim.henderson@gloucester.nsw.gov.au

Representative

Greater Taree City Council

David West

Councillor

0447 482 232

Cr.west@gtcc.nsw.gov.au

Representative

Great Lakes Council

Andrew Staniland

Manager - Parks & Recreation

6591 7238

Andrew.staniland@greatlakes.nw.gov.au

Alternate

Great Lakes Council

Terry Inkson

Weeds officer

6591 7302
0428 463 065

Terry.inkson@greatlakes.nsw.gov.au

Representative

Lake Macquarie City Council

Derek Poulton

Coordinator - Public Health & Environment

4921 0091
0409 367 266

dpoulton@lakemac.nsw.gov.au

Representative

Maitland City Council

Ashley Kavanagh

Manager Infrastructure Construction & Maintenance

4934 9680
0409 349 605

Ashley.kavanagh@maitland.nsw.gov.au

Representative

Maitland City Council

Brian Worboys

Manager Civil Works

4934 9602
0418 867 367

Brianw@maitland.nsw.gov.au

Alternate 1

Maitland City Council

Terry Bignall

Technical Weeds Advisor

4934 9637
0407 717 387

Terryb@maitland.nsw.gov.au

Alternate 2

Newcastle City Council

Barry Bourke

Pest & Weeds Coordination Manager

4974 6045
0413 128 456

bbourke@ncc.nsw.gov.au

Representative

Port Stephens Council

Les Seddon

Natural Resources Coordinator

4980 0351
0419 394 735

Les.seddon@portstephens.nsw.gov.au

Representative

Upper Hunter County Councils

Steve McDonald

General Manager

 

Steve.mcDonald@muswellbrook.nsw.gov.au

Representative

Upper Hunter Weeds Authority

Doug Campbell

Works Coordinator.

6549 3802
0408 683 490

uhwa@muswellbrook.nsw.gov.au

Alternate

DPI

Rod Ensbey

Invasive Species Officer

6640 1648
0401 148 320

Rod.ensbey@dpi.nsw.gov.au

Representative

DPI

Glenda Briggs

Regional Director - Hunter, Central Coast & Sydney

4939 8958
0477 363 945

Glenda.briggs@dpi.nsw.gov.au



Alternate

NPWS

Ruth Armstrong

Pest Management Officer - Lower North Coast Region

4984 8214

Ruth.armstrong@environment.nsw.gov.au

Representative

Nature Conservation Council

   

TBC

NSW Farmer Association

    

TBC

Worimi LALC

Mary Greenwood

Program Manager – Lands & Green Team

4033 8807
0437 568 270

MaryG@worimi.org.au

Representative

Worimi LALC

Richard Kime

 

0435 759 025

RichardK@worimi.org.au

Alternate

Wanaruah LALC

Noel Downs

CEO

6543 1288
0429 773 900

Ceo.wanaruah@bigpond.com

Representative

Manning Landcare

Chris Scott

 

0428 860 639

sancris@tpg.com.au

Alternate

Hunter Region Landcare Network

Peter Lawrence

 

4931 5257

combwell@yahoo.com.au

Representative

Dept. of Lands

Martin Dawson

Senior Natural Resource Management Officer

4937 9346

Martin.Dawson@crownland.nsw.gov.au

Representative

Dept. of Lands

Tim Deverell

Area Manager - Hunter

4937 9366

Tim.Deverell@crownland.nsw.gov.au

Alternate

Dept. of Defence

Helen Horn

Assistant Director Environment and Sustainability

4034 7339
0408 607 279

Helen.Horn@defence.gov.au

Representative

Forestry Corporation

Peter Tarjanyi

Protection Supervisor - Hunter

0427 909 016

Peter.Tarjanyi@fcnsw.com.au

Representative

Australian Rail Track Corporation (ARTC)

    

TBC

Hunter Water

    

TBC

Mid Coast water

Graeme Watkins

David Bowland

Strategic Operations Manager

Environmental Scientist

 

Graeme.Watkins@MidCoastWater.com.au


David.Bowland@MidCoastWater.com.au

Communications

Contacts only

Essential Energy

    

TBC

Ausgrid

    

TBC

Roads and Maritime Services

    

TBC

State Water

    

TBC

Rio Tinto Coal Australia & Hunter Coal Environment Group

Heidi Watters

Advisor - Land Offsets

6575 5808
0417 573 892

Heidi.watters@riotinto.com

Representative

Glencore Coal

Nigel Charnock

Land and Property, Coal Assets Australia

6570 2461
0407 231 785

Nigel.charnock@glencore.com.au

Alternate