Skip to content

Hunter Regional Weeds Committee (HRWC)

The purpose of the Hunter Regional Weed Committee (HRWC) is to provide ‘tenure neutral’ strategic planning and coordination of weed management activities at the regional level. These activities play an integral part in an overall state weed management framework.

The committee was established to:

  • support implementation of the weeds components and underlining principles of the NSW Biosecurity Strategy, NSW Biosecurity Act and the NSW Invasive Species Plan 2015-2022
  • provide advice to the Board regarding delivery weed functions for the Local Land Services consistent with the Local Strategic Plan
  • to develop innovative and effective regional weed management strategic plans that consider risks, include all land tenure, and major stakeholders in the landscape
  • provide a forum for the community and stakeholders in decision making, and develop communication education and awareness programs based on local and/or regional priority weeds and issues.

Terms of Reference

Communiques

Membership

Organisation

Name

Title

Phone

Email

Membership

Hunter LLS

Daryl Dutton

Board Member

0408 410 641

daryldutton@bigpond.com

CHAIR

Cessnock City Council

Michael Alexander

Environment and Waste Manager

4993 4253

Michael.Alexander@cessnock.nsw.gov.au

Representative

Cessnock City Council

Barry Shepherd

Weeds Coordinator

4993 4370
0401 107 513

Barry.shepherd@cessnock.nsw.gov.au

Alternate

Dungog Shire Council

Paul Minnet

Environment. Manager

4995 7740
0407 033 245

paulm@dungog.nsw.gov.au

Representative

Dungog Shire Council

Vacant    

MidCoast Council

Gerard Tuckerman

Manager - Natural Systems

6591 7238

gerard.tuckerman@midcoast.nsw.gov.au

Alternate

MidCoast Council

Terry Inkson

Weeds officer

6591 7302 0428 463 065

Terry.inkson@midcoast.nsw.gov.au

Representative

Lake Macquarie City Council

Derek Poulton

Coordinator - Public Health & Environment

4921 0091
0409 367 266

dpoulton@lakemac.nsw.gov.au

Representative

Lake Macquarie City CouncilKim HignellVegetation & Pest Management Coordinator4921 0360 0417 245 735

khignell@lakemac.nsw.gov.au

Alternate

Maitland City Council

Ashley Kavanagh

Manager Infrastructure Construction & Maintenance

4934 9680
0409 349 605

Ashley.kavanagh@maitland.nsw.gov.au

Representative

Maitland City Council

Brian Worboys

Manager Civil Works

4934 9602
0418 867 367

Brianw@maitland.nsw.gov.au

Alternate 1

Maitland City Council & Chair of HWTT

Terry Bignall

Technical Weeds Advisor

4934 9637
0407 717 387

Terryb@maitland.nsw.gov.au

Alternate 2

Newcastle City Council

Dean Semit

Pest & Weeds Coordination officer

0413 610 272

dsemit@ncc.nsw.gov.au

Representative

Newcastle City CouncilGeoff WeaverPest & Weeds Coordination officer4874 6045

gwweaver@ncc.nsw.gov.au

Alternate

Port Stephens Council

Les Seddon

Natural Resources Coordinator

4980 0351
0419 394 735

Les.seddon@portstephens.nsw.gov.au

Representative

Port Stephens CouncilJordan Skinner 0409 716 346

jordan.skinner@portstephens.nsw.gov.au

Alternate

Upper Hunter County Councils

Steve McDonald

General Manager

 

Steve.mcDonald@muswellbrook.nsw.gov.au

Representative

Upper Hunter Weeds Authority

Doug Campbell

Works Coordinator

6549 3802
0408 683 490

uhwa@muswellbrook.nsw.gov.au

Alternate

DPI

Rod Ensbey

Invasive Species Officer

6640 1648
0401 148 320

Rod.ensbey@dpi.nsw.gov.au

Representative

DPI

Vacant

    

NPWS

Ruth Armstrong

Pest Management Officer - Lower North Coast Region

4984 8214

Ruth.armstrong@environment.nsw.gov.au

Representative

Nature Conservation Council

Tony Lonergan

Nature Conservation Council0428 189 585

adlonergan@gmail.com

Representative

NSW Farmers Association

Deborah WillisExecutive and Cattle Committees6556 7216

dj.will@bigpond.net.au

Representative

Worimi LALC

Richard Kime

 

0435 759 025

RichardK@worimi.org.au

Alternate

Wanaruah LALC

Noel Downs

CEO

6543 1288
0429 773 900

Ceo.wanaruah@bigpond.com

Representative

Manning Landcare

Chris Scott

 

0428 860 639

sancris@tpg.com.au

Alternate

Hunter Region Landcare Network

Peter Lawrence

 

4931 5257

combwell@yahoo.com.au

Representative

Dept. of Lands

Martin Dawson

Senior Natural Resource Management Officer

4937 9346

Martin.Dawson@crownland.nsw.gov.au

Representative

Dept. of Lands

Tim Deverell

Area Manager - Hunter

4937 9366

Tim.Deverell@crownland.nsw.gov.au

Alternate

Dept. of DefenceHeidi CrookEnvironmental officer 

Heidi.crook@defence.gov.au

Representative

Dept. of Defence

Helen Horn

Assistant Director Environment and Sustainability

4034 7339
0408 607 279

Helen.Horn@defence.gov.au

Alternate

Forestry Corporation

Peter Tarjanyi

Protection Supervisor - Hunter

0427 909 016

Peter.Tarjanyi@fcnsw.com.au

Representative

Australian Rail Track Corporation (ARTC)

Jessica BollingerEnvironmental Advisor0409 378 619

jbollinger@ARTC.com.au

Representative

Hunter Water

Anne FineganEnvironmental Officer4906 4627

Anne.finegan@hunterwater.com.au

Representative

Mid Coast water

Graeme Watkins

David Bowland

Strategic Operations Manager

Environmental Scientist

 

Graeme.Watkins@MidCoastWater.com.au


David.Bowland@MidCoastWater.com.au

Communications

Contacts only

Essential Energy

Represented by Ausgrid    

Ausgrid

Mark EvansEnvironmental Officer Environmental Services4035 4140 (ext 44140)

mark.evans@ausgrid.com.au

Representative

Roads and Maritime Services

Renae MartinEnvironmental Manager0413 483 539

reneae.MARTIN@rms.nsw.gov.au

Representative

Water NSW (f. State Water)

Ron WalkerRegional Manager North Asset Maintenance & Services4886 9416 0428 489 601 ron.walker@waternsw.gov.au

Representative

Hunter Coal Environment Group

Kate Walsh (sec)

(Chair Peter Horn)

4931 6739 0427039514

kate.walsh@industry.nsw.gov.au

Vacant

Weeds Expertise

Mary Greenwood

Program Manager- Lands & Green Team

4033 8807 0437 568 270

maryG@worimi.org.au

Representative

Nursey & Garden Industry NSW/ACTMichael DanelonIndustry Development Officer0400 010 049

michael.danelon@ngina.com.au

Representative